Home      About      FAQ      Contact     
Nessun Dorma from Turandot
You May Also Like

Railroaded for flute choir
Tamar for flute quartet/choir
French Quarter for Flute Quartet
Chatter for two flutes
Trajectory for 2 flutes and cello

Crosswalk for solo flute
Smorgasbord for solo flute
Mangosteen for flute and guitar
Lent and Easter Flute Duets
Wedding Flute Duets
Christmas Flute Duets

Nessun Dorma from Turandot

Composer:Giacomo Puccini Arranger: Nicole Chamberlain
Instrumentation: 4 C Flutes, alto flute (optional c flute), bass flute
Level: Advanced
Duration: 2 1/2 Minutes
Format: PDF
Price: $10.00

"Nessun Dorma” was originally composed by Giacomo Puccini as an aria that takes place in his opera Turandot. Calaf, an unknown prince, has won the right to marry the princess Turandot, but she is not agreeable to marrying Calef. Calef says if she can guess his name by morning, Turandot can execute him. Calef sings this aria:

None shall sleep! None shall sleep!

Even you, O Princess, in your cold bedroom, watch the stars that tremble with love and with hope!

But my secret is hidden within me; none will know my name! No, no! On your mouth I will say it when the light shines!

And my kiss will dissolve the silence that makes you mine!

Women’s chorus: No one will know his name, and we will have to, alas, die, die!

Calef: Vanish, o night! Fade, you stars! Fade, you stars! At dawn, I will win! I will win! I will win!

© Spotted Rocket Publishing. All Rights Reserved.